Latest News

Politicos on the Move: Jan. 14, 2023

Written on Jan 12, 2024
  • House Democrats have selected Beryl Brown Piccolantonio, president of the Gahanna Jefferson Board of Education, to replace former Rep. Mary Lightbody (D-Westerville), who resigned her 4th House District seat on Jan. 9. 

  • State Rep. Jena Powell (R-Arcanum), a Darke County Republican who filed last month for reelection to the 80th House District, notified elections officials Monday that she won’t seek a fourth term after all this year. 

  • Rep. Tavia Galonski (D-Akron) announced on Jan. 10 that she has resigned her 33rd House District seat and been sworn in as the Summit County Clerk of Courts. 

  • Secretary of State Frank LaRose announced that 18 candidates have been certified to appear on Ohio’s Tuesday, March 19 primary ballot. Validated candidates include the following:

  • Presidential 

  • Chris Christie (R) 

  • Ron DeSantis (R) 

  • Nikki R. Haley (R) 

  • Vivek Ramaswamy (R) 

  • Donald J. Trump (R) 

  • Joseph R. Biden (D) 

  • Dean Phillips (D) 

  • U.S. Senate 

  • Matt Dolan (R) 

  • Frank LaRose (R) 

  • Bernie Moreno (R) 

  • Sherrod Brown (D) 

  • Ohio Supreme Court 

  • (Full term commencing 1/1/2025) 

  • Megan E. Shanahan (R) 

  • Michael P. Donnelly (D) 

  • (Full term commencing 1/2/2025) 

  • Joseph T. Deters (R) 

  • Melody J. Stewart (D) 

  • (Unexpired term ending 12/31/2026) 

  • Daniel R. Hawkins (R) 

  • Lisa Forbes (D) 

  • Terri Jamison (D) 

Related Upcoming Events