Latest News

Rep. Derek Merrin wins Outstanding Legislator award

Written on Nov 5, 2021
The Ohio Society of CPAs was pleased to recognize Rep. Derek Merrin, R-Monclova Township, with an OSCPA Outstanding Legislator Award at our October Virtual Accounting Show on Oct. 26. OSCPA periodically awards legislators who are critical to our success on key OSCPA issues of concern, who regularly work closely with OSCPA to help move our profession’s priorities forward, and who merit special recognition for their significant efforts and involvement on behalf of the CPA profession and Ohio. 


Merrin has been a reliable advocate for the profession and even encouraged young professionals to become involved in advocacy efforts as he’s spoken before at our YCPA Day at the Statehouse event.  As chairman of the House Ways & Means Committee this session, Merrin has been instrumental on several OSCPA priorities. 

First, Chair Merrin’s leadership helped secure municipal income tax withholding refunds.  The House Ways & Means Committee had six hearings on H.B. 157, language that was ultimately amended into H.B. 110 (budget bill).  Early in the budget bill process, he also blocked an attempt by ODT to codify a harmful administrative rule providing a common ownership test for CAT taxpayer groups.

On another front, Chair Merrin was also able to secure several victories in Senate Bill 18, Ohio’s tax conformity legislation enacted on March 31.  It ensured Ohio’s deductibility of forgiven PPP loan expenses and excluded Ohio BWC dividends (refunds) from the CAT.  Notably, he also successfully enacted another OSCPA priority by lowering Ohio’s PTE withholding rates (former H.B. 124) with an amendment to S.B. 18.  The rate changes to 3% apply to a PTE’s taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2023.

He is also the primary sponsor of other tax-related legislation, most notably bills dealing with property tax issues (H.B. 126 and H.B. 140) and legislation revising the unclaimed funds process (H.B. 348).

Chair Merrin has truly been an advocate for common sense changes benefiting Ohio taxpayers and Ohio businesses alike, and he is one of just four legislators OSCPA is recognizing this year with our 2021 Outstanding Legislator Award, along with: Rep. Thomas West, D-Canton, Rep. Bill Roemer, CPA, R-Richfield, and Sen. Kristina Roegner, R-Hudson.