Latest News

Politicos on the Move: Jan. 8, 2023

Written on Jan 6, 2023
  • State Representative Jason Stephens (R-Kitts Hill) was elected Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives Tuesday on the first floor gathering of the 135th Ohio General Assembly. Scott Oelslager (R-Canton) will serve in the #2 role as speaker pro tempore.  Remaining members of the leadership team likely will be voted on in the near future, and House committee chairs and assignments are also forthcoming. 

  •  Allison Russo (D- Upper Arlington) has been re-elected as Minority Leader, and adoption of a minority leadership slate with Rep. Dontavius Jarrells (D-Columbus) as assistant minority leader, Rep. Jessica Miranda (D-Forest Park) as minority whip, and Rep. Tavia Galonski (D-Akron) as assistant minority whip. 

  • Senate President Matt Huffman (R-Lima) unanimously was re-elected to a second term as the Senate’s majority party leader. Joining President Huffman’s leadership team will be Sen. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) as president pro tempore, Sen. Rob McColley (R-Napoleon) as majority floor leader, and Sen. Theresa Gavarone (R-Bowling Green) as majority whip.  

  • Sen. Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood) was chosen as Senate Minority Leader, with a leadership team consisting of Sen. Hearcel Craig (D-Columbus) as assistant minority leader, Sen. Kent Smith (D-Euclid) as minority whip, and Sen. Paula Hicks-Hudson (D-Toledo) as assistant minority whip. 

  • Senate committee rosters have been announced.  A goal of Senate President Huffman was consistency, so a number of chairs from last session will continue this session, including Senator Bill Blessing as Ways and Means Committee chair and Senator Matt Dolan as Finance Committee chair. 

Related Upcoming Events