House GOP reelects Cupp, announces leadership team for 134th GA

Provided by Hannah News Service

House Speaker Bob Cupp, R-Lima, was unanimously reelected to serve as speaker for the 134th General Assembly, the House Republican Caucus announced Nov. 18.

“I am so honored to have been reelected by my colleagues to continue leading the Ohio House,” Cupp said in a news release. “I will work every day with our unified caucus to advance conservative policies to benefit all Ohioans. We have great challenges, but I know the talented members of our caucus will work together to solve them.”

The caucus also announced that Rep. Tim Ginter, R-Salem, will serve as speaker pro tempore; Rep. Bill Seitz, R-Cincinnati, will serve as majority floor leader; Rep. Rick Carfagna, R-Westerville, will serve as assistant majority floor leader; Rep. Don Jones, R-Freeport, will serve as majority whip; and Rep. Cindy Abrams, R-Harrison, will serve as assistant majority whip.

Seitz has been serving as House majority floor leader throughout the 133rd General Assembly. All of the other members of the House GOP leadership team for the 134th General Assembly, besides Cupp, are newly elected leaders.

The leadership election took place at a caucus meeting of returning members and members-elect Wednesday morning.

With Cupp’s reelection, both chambers of the General Assembly will be led by legislators from Lima. Last week, the Senate GOP unanimously chose Sen. Matt Huffman, R-Lima, to serve as president of the Senate.

Lima, with a population of roughly 37,000, is the seat of Allen County in Northwestern Ohio. The city is situated on the Ottawa River, and is about 90 miles from Columbus.

Terms for the 134th General Assembly begin Friday, Jan. 1. Opening day for the new General Assembly will be Monday, Jan. 4, 2021.